Change to make a change

In a previous post I talked about how change is not always easy, but sometimes necessary for your own good. Maybe even more challenging than that is how you make the changes that you need to make. I said that alot of the changes are very easy to make and some are more difficult than others.

I found myself going off on a whim just to make some changes while at the same time keeping myself busy so not to dwell on things that really didn’t matter anymore. The reason that they did not matter any more is because they could not be changed. This may be getting a little confusing so let me clear it up. For example I could not change the fact that my left ear rings 24 hours a day 7 days a week. I can not change that. What did I do to make it insignificant.

I started to do things that I have never really done before to keep my mind busy elsewhere. I went back to some old hobbies as well as starting some new.

I used to be a very avid hunter and fisherman. I hadn’t done either in years before the injury. I used to enjoy to play golf , but only played a couple of times a year. I changed all of that. I started fishing again whenever I had the opportunity, and I also started to hunt again with my older brother on a whim. I really didn’t care so much about the hunt as much as I did being out in the environment. I got a membership to the local country club and played probably 40 times the first year.

When it comes to new hobbies I just found what would be fun. My wife had bought me a really nice camera for Christmas and I decided that I would start taking photos. The photo of the waterfall on this page is one that I took. I like to take them in nature and soon I am going to start taking sports photos.  I have chosen nature because as I have said before, everything that we see has a purpose on this Earth. An important purpose too. Nothing on this Earth is here by accident.

The other new hobby that I have taken up makes some people look at me like I am a little crazy. I don’t do it for the reasons that they think. There are just preconceived notions about this hobby. There is TV shows, history, money and other things that give people the wrong idea about my new found hobby. (Are you on the edge of your seat waiting to hear what it is yet.) Don’t be. It’s really not that big of a  deal. I have taken up panning for gold. I have done the research and studied where the glaciers have come across my state and I know that it is here. Do I think that I will get rich doing this or find the next gold nugget? Absolutely not. What I will get is a little cold water on my feet from natural springs and streams that were placed here by the glaciers and God. I will get to see all of the things that I had taken for granted for the first part of my life. I get to see wildlife walking around and flowers and plants that i don’t get to see when I am in town around the streets and houses. My goal in this new hobby is to find 1 flake of gold the size of a grain of sand before the end of the year. I think that is a reachable goal. Even if I don’t reach the goal, I get alot of exercise trying. Damn those old time miners had to be super tough to that for a living.

English: Klondiker panning for gold

English: Klondiker panning for gold (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have done more detailed landscaping around the house by building blocked wall flower beds and a climbing rose tree.The rose tree thing looks a little funny right now but it will get there. I used wood and built a trellis that is shaped like a Christmas tree and planted climbing rose bushes around it. When it finally grows up that tree I think it will look awesome. if not I will have 5 randomly planted rose bushes in my back yard. either way it’s a win win situation to me.

To close this post I just want to say that if change is necessary do what feels good to you. Within reason there is nothing to hold you back to making the changes that you need to make to make your life better than it was. My Fall to Life has made my outlook different but definitely better

Mojave Nugget, a gold nugget weighing 156 ounc...

Mojave Nugget, a gold nugget weighing 156 ounces. From the Stringer district, Kern County, California. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

