A Day on the Water

Today was a day that I had as much time as I wanted to just sit and think, but guess what I DIDN’T DO IT.

 

Today we spent the day on the water kayaking and fishing with my oldest daughter and some good people. We ranged from 13 years old to 42. When did I become the old guy?  My daughter and I had a friendly fishing competition. She won the first part by catching the first fish and I won the second two by catching the most and the biggest. We watched a bald eagle fly over us and land in a tree directly over us. I wish I could take my camera on the creek with me when I was out there.

 

We stopped at the half way point and started a small fire to cook some hot dogs and hot sausage. It was nice to just be out there and not have to worry about the things that normally go through my mind on a daily basis.

Bald eagle

There was one spot on the trip as there always is that is not too much fun. There is a certain point in the journey where we have a choice to go left or right of an island. The left side is a nice easy slow trip and the right side is a slightly faster trip where there are two crosses pinned to trees. That is where we lost the two young ladies to canoeing accident years ago. I always choose to go to the right and always ask the others to go to the left. I was the first rescuer on scene and we were unable to save them. I always take a minute or two, stop at the crosses and say a small prayer for the girls and their families.

I also ask them to forgive us that tried so long to get them out there and save their lives. I know that we did everything we could do, but I still always ask. I want them to know that I have not forgotten that day and I never will.

There are some things that I wish this TBI would have erased from my memory. Some of them are the way that I acted after my injury towards my family and friends and the others so some of the things that I have seen since I became an adult. From the Gulf War to firefighting there are alot of things that have been stored in my mind for a long time. Every now and then they peek out of storage and bring me back to that time. It is never fun and none of them are good memories but it is the life that I have chosen and I have no regrets.

The life choices that I have made in my career have given me many opportunities that others will never be able to understand. I am very proud that I have done my very best and made the most out of them. Whatever it is you do for a living or in life, do your very best as well. It will make a difference to someone even if you do’t see it.

I am going to close this post by saying that in the last week or so I have seen that this blog is working for the purpose that I intended. I have been motivated by the comments that I have received. When I first started this blog I thought that I would be lucky if this worked, and I set my goal at six to eight months to make a positive difference to someone. I think this is my third month and it has already happened. I want to thank each and every one of you that follow this blog and leave comments . You are all helping “My Fall to Life” succeed.

 

