Thinking Like a Hummingbird

 

Today was kind of a neat day as it went on. I had two separate conversations with two of my neighbors that brought me back to shortly after I suffered my traumatic brain injury. 

 

The first conversation was about religion and the original plan of God was for man to live forever on a paradise earth.It made me think of how lucky I was to have survived my TBI. It also gave me thought of my new found faith. I have always believed in God but my injury had helped me reconnect to that faith. i have never been a church going person and that has not changed. I do not believe that you have to go to church and prove that you believe as long as you live your life with good intentions.

 

The second talk was with another neighbor whose sister had a head injury two nights prior and was transported to Pittsburgh for a concussion. She had the tests that she could have here and supposed to fly but due to foggy weather she was transported by ground. Once again this brought me back to my injury. I really never gave it another thought until after dinner and started to watch a show on National Geographic about hummingbirds in the Andes Mountains.

Andes near of La Paz 2

Andes near of La Paz 2 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Two males hummingbird are fighting. They do it...

Two males hummingbird are fighting. They do it all the time, but it is all, but impossible to catch on film.The image was taken in San Francisco (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Allow me to get to the point. There are many types of hummingbirds in the Andes Mountains. When they find the type of flower that they want to feed on they protect it ferociously. They will attack other hummingbirds to the point of death. With that being said there is one tiny little hummingbird that weighs about as much as a penny. Even though the hummingbirds protect their territory so relentlessly, they allow this tiny little hummingbird in to feed on their flowers.

 

By now you are probably asking what the heck is the point that I am trying to make. Stick with me here. 

 

Shortly after my TBI I was alot like that hummingbird that protected my territory. For lack of better words let’s call it my personal space. I would allow my family to get close to me and inside my territory. They were the little hummingbirds. Everyone else that attempted to invade my space was normally met with resistance from me. It is not that I wanted to harm anyone, it was more like I didn’t trust people to be around. The reason I didn’t trust them had no merit to it except in my mind. I was afraid of what they would think and how they would feel seeing me in the condition that I was in. So I became a big ass hummingbird.

 

Fortunately it faded away and I returned to human form. Just kidding. Actually I am kinda still like that hummingbird. There is only a handful of my friends that know this blog exists. I will send it out there to all of my friends on social media eventually, but right now it is only to those that I know I can trust to not judge the content that I post.

As I have stated before there a couple more topics that I have not covered yet because I need to get the courage to talk about them. They will come but only when the time is right with me. “My Fall to Life”  is not complete.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Thinking Like a Hummingbird

  1. I hear you about “sharing when the time is right.” It does take courage to share what’s on our hearts and happening in our lives. You have been sooo courageous! I am so grateful for your words and willingness to write about all that is still even “unresolved” or in process. Blessings, Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

