Back to the Task

Today I have taken some time to look back at some of the posts that I have written since I have started this blog and I find that I am not being true to myself as I said I should be in a couple posts back. There were a couple of things that I wanted to accomplish. The first thing was this blog to possibly help others simply by putting my feelings online. In addition to that there were a couple of other things that I said I wanted to accomplish and that I take nothing for granted since my TBI. I feel that I have had some success in that venture so far and hopefully more to come.

I said that there was something else that was very important to me and my wife to make happen since Nov. 2011. I have told my family and others short when it comes to that. It is not something on a personal level or anything that has to do directly with my family. It is indeed something very important to me because it is very important to my wife looking back at what happened. We had set a goal to accomplish and I have taken it for granted that now that I am recovering very well that maybe I don’t see it as important as it was shortly after the incident. That is about to change. I think that I may have someone else in my corner now that can help me through the hurdles to get this goal accomplished.

When I initially brought this up I was told that it would be very hard to see it through because of logistical challenges and red tape. Well I can carry a very big pair of scissors when it comes to red tape. I have already proved that when I put my mind to something that there is nothing that can slow me down. Logistics, I can kind of see the issue there but I also know that it is not a hurdle that can’t be overcome.

I wasn’t going to talk alot about that goal, but I feel like I owe it to at least say what it is all about. Shortly after I started to think like a human again my wife talked about how awful it was for my family and another family that she was around while I was in the ER in Pittsburgh with my status still in question. There was a family in the same ER that had lost a son and the Dr. came out to the ER and told the family with all of the other people there in the ER. I am by no means saying that this is wrong, these Dr’s do not have an easy job when it comes to this. My point is that what my wife’s idea was was this. Why could there not be a room available for families in a hospital where they can gather if they have a family member in critical condition. A family sitting in an ER that is grieving because they have a loved one in terrible condition is not a private enough place for this family. They are in that ER with people who do have emergencies, but those emergencies may as well be a broken toe compared to what some of those families are dealing with. The idea would allow room for a couple of families to be able to be in a more private setting. The room could have a couple of couches and a TV, maybe a coffee and soda machine in there. This would allow a family to truly be together and not surrounded by people who could also become uncomfortable by a grieving family. The possibility of more than 1 family being in the room together could also be helpful allowing the families to talk with each other during these times of need. This room would be called the “Comfort Room.” It could also allow for clergy to spend private time with a struggling family. It is time  For “THE COMFORT ROOM” to be a real thing instead of a thought in our mind.

The final thing that I wanted to do was be able to help people on a face to face level. This could be with survivors or family members of a survivor. That goal has been very slow going. I have made a few attempts at finding a way to accomplish this which is how I learned about blogging so that is a plus. There is more work to do though. As soon as I finish posting this I am going to print off a PDF file for the BIAPA. Brain Injury Association of Pennsylvania. This PDF file is the tool I need to submit a presentation to speak at their annual conference in Lancaster PA. It is host to 350 plus attendees that range from the injured, families, physicians, psychologists and other professionals in the field. I am going to work with Miss Pauline to assist me in getting this prepared and hopefully accepted as a presenter at this conference. This should keep me busy for a couple of weeks, but stay tuned for my progress.

“My Fall to Life” is going full speed ahead.

Leave a Reply

