The Influence of Music

After a brief conversation today I was reminded that music can be very influential in our daily lives. Music can makes us smile, laugh, cry, be sad, happy, angry, motivated and many other things at any given time. Sometimes these feelings can change in a heartbeat from the highest high to the lowest low. This really never came to my mind before. I could listen to any song and truly get the meaning, but it would not influence me as much as it does post TBI. That can be a very good thing and a very bad thing. I want to point out a couple of examples and then I want to try something, kind of like a little experiment. These examples may not be the feelings of everyone that reads this but maybe you can kind of see where I am going with this. We all have our triggers both good and bad. All too often we can clearly see the ones that gives us emotions that we would rather not feel. On the other hand how often do we hear a song that triggers the feel good side of us. Here are a couple of my examples: It is great to attend a high school football game and stand up for the National Anthem. As a combat veteran that makes me very proud and happy. That feeling goes into a fit of instant rage as I look around the crowd and see someone with their ball cap still on. That is very disrespectful to the troops that have made the ultimate sacrifice and their families. The song “Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons makes me angry. Why? It is the song that is played at the start of  “Inside Para Rescue.” I see the devastation caused by our deployment of troops for reasons that I do not understand. “Firework” by Katy Perry makes me smile because it helps me truly see that its ok to be me. I have nothing to prove to anyone. Accept me for who I am and lets have some fun or get the hell out of the way because this train is on a mission. We overlook the simple things because we are in a hurry or on our smart phones, or just do not take the time to just sit down and listen. In this busy techno world we need to take some time and just stop. Stop and enjoy all that is around you. You and only you. Take a look around and listen. STOP. What is so important that we cant take an hour out of every day and just put down the electronics and enjoy the truly important thing, our mind. I call technology the most inconvenient convenience known to man. Ok enough with the babbling. Now for the good stuff. I am going to need everybody’s help with this for it to work. I am going to bounce around the web and find some songs and put the link up here. I would like you to go to the links and listen to the songs. Minimize the page so you cant see the video. Write a one line feeling for each song and then post them in the comment section of this post. Some of you will, and some of you won’t for fear of being judged. Be bold, take a stand, come out of that comfort zone for just a minute. I promise it will feel good. I am going to attempt to pick songs that can hit lots of emotion and of all genres. I hope I succeed. HERE WE GO!!!!

#1  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sm-Vh3j8sys  

#2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Op-WpDPNI7Q

#3 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZ3mPw8d3Wk

#4 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SiylvmFI_8

#5 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5TwT69i1lU

That was a little harder than I thought trying to get the right songs. Give it a shot and lets see what kind of responses there are

Thanks

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

