When must being nice take a break?

English: US Marine Corps Senior Drill Instruct...

English: US Marine Corps Senior Drill Instructor Staff Sergeant T. Warren, Platoon 1057, Bravo Company, 1st Recruit Training Battalion, stands at parade rest while waiting for the Battalion Commander aboard , . The Battalion Commander is inspecting the B CO recruits as they wrap up their final week of recruit training. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When enough turns out to be too much, how you choose to fight the battle can be tricky. One downside to having a traumatic brain injury is that the mind can switch from zero to mach 4 in a heartbeat. I am very fortunate to be able to see this happening more often than not. That vision allows me to think before I speak or act. In the last month or so, there has been a few things that I have been faced with that has put me close to the breaking point. I am a very tolerant person, and pretty easy to get along with for the most part.However, when enough becomes enough, it is time to take action. I contracted a company to do some work at my house on the outside. They are a large company with a pretty good reputation. I don’t think that seamless gutters and soffit fascia, should take a year and a half. The actual work was done, but many problems came from them. Several calls to the company went without results. Finally after a year and a half, I took action and went bat shit crazy on the company. A representative will be here in 3 days. The second one, which is a much much bigger problem is one that I cannot give details about yet. Trust me when I say, if you want to make a person very angry, mess with their pay. To make it worse, mess with the others pay as well. Hopefully, this will be resolved very quickly and the red color in my neck will be able to fade away. Top all of that off with a few changes in your recovery state from a TBI,  the perfect storm is brewing. This is when the ability to separate frustration from anger comes into play. The nice guy mentality has the tendency to fade away very quickly. I have Ann to keep me in my shoes. Hooray for that. She hates to see me get upset. When I do get to that point, the caring wife, or the drill sergeant comes out of her, whichever is needed. I am very thankful for both sides of her. She keeps me focused on reality, instead of what would make me happy for the short term. What I am slowly learning is that getting prematurely frustrated and angry is not the best way to go about solving problems. Sometimes it just feels good to let it loose, but when the euphoria subsides, the problem is still there and still needs to be solved. With her by my side, there is no mountain that I can’t climb!!


 

Leave a Reply

